Roasted Beet-Tofu Burgers

Roasted Beet-Tofu Burgers

I’m a Vegetarian. Pretty much Vegan actually. When people discover this they usually ask two questions: Why? and What do you eat?.

Italian Layered Vegetable Casserole

Italian Layered Vegetable Casserole

The answer to the second question is easy: Everything! Except animals. That leaves a huge amount of food to choose from!

The answer to the first question wasn’t always easy. It took me a few years to work out why I wanted to be Vegetarian and then almost 6 months to become fully Vegetarian. That was about 5 years ago.

Blueberry Banana Bread

Blueberry Banana Bread

I became Vegetarian because it felt authentic to me. I had thoughts about eating animals that weren’t matching with my actions. And this article by Jonathan Safran Foer is the first time I’ve heard that expressed. It’s a great article for anyone considering becoming Vegetarian or Vegan even. It’s not evangelical, it’s clear and logical and beautifully written. It’s about family and tradition and how big a part food plays in developing our childhood memories.

FYI

Vegetarian = No meat (including fish)

Vegan = No animal products at all including dairy, eggs, honey, leather, feathers etc.

I’m not out to convert anyone. It works for me. If you’re interested read the article (you may have to register to read – but it’s free and easy!) and check out some of these fantastic Vegetarian/Vegan blogs for recipes and inspiration! Yum!

Blogs to check out

Fat-free Vegan Kitchen – Susan’s blog is full of beautiful Vegan recipies and kindly agreed to let me use her photos for this post. Thanks Susan! I love the sound of Coconut Chai Breakfast Cake.

What the hell does a Vegan eat anyway? – Another blog with hundreds of delicious sounding recipes… and a great title!

Almost Vegetarian – More great recipes and information.

All images courtesy of Fat-free Vegan Kitchen.

